Dec 19, 2015

Sutra 1.33. Methods of chitta stabilization. Part 2. Yogi’s “Virtues” of anahata nature

In his next sutra Patanjali offers a totally different and very original approach to the issue of restoring the integrity of chitta that is grounded upon development of anahata experience:

मैत्रीकरुणामुदितोपेक्षाणां सुखदुःखपुण्यापुण्यविषयाणां 
भावनातश्चित्तप्रसादनम् ॥ ३३॥
1.33. {maitrī-karuṇā-muditā-upekṣāṇāṃ} {sukha-duḥkha-puṇya- apuṇya-viṣayāṇāṃ} bhāvanātaś {citta prasādanam}

Dec 15, 2015

Sutra 1.32. Methods of chitta stabilization. Part one. Totalness

Having laid down the criteria of chitta scattering (chitta-vikshepa) in shloka 31, Patanjali dedicated further 8 shlokas (32 to 39) to methods aimed at withstanding this state, while another 2 shlokas that follow (40 and 41) speak about the results of “bringing” chitta together. So far as these methods are quite applicable and highly topical, I shall be giving a consequent review of each of them in the next few articles.

Now, sutra 32 goes as follows:

तत्प्रतिषेधार्थमेकतत्त्वाभ्यासः ॥ ३२॥
1.32 tat pratiṣedha-artham eka-tattva-abhyāsaḥ

Nov 23, 2015

Sutras 1.3 - 1.4. Svarupa. Genuine inwardness, or what happens after vrittis have been overcome??

The subject of chitta scattered character (chitta-vikshepa) that we have investigated in the previous articles allows returning to a more thorough consideration of the term that Patanjali introduced yet in the third line. Namely, the category of “svarupa” or, making it verbatim, “own form”, “proper form”, “proper inwardness”. Let me remind that the line as a whole goes as follows:

1.3. At that time (in the state of chitta-vriddhi-nirodha) the drashtar’s (the inner observer’s) svarupa (own form)
1.4. otherwise – merger with vritti

Sep 30, 2015

Chitta-vikshepa and energetic ties

There is a direct link between the theme of Chitta-vikshepa and another fundamental subject that Yoga and other esoteric systems have in their arsenal, namely – the subject of energetic “cords” or, as we refer to them in our slangy word – “tails and trails”. For non-practitioners I shall remind that when we speak about energetic cords, or ties, we mean a state when having had a disharmonious interaction with another person one has some stressing-out emotions left in respect of the said person so that in his mind (consciously or unconsciously) he returns to this communication (for instance, trying to explain post factum something that he hadn’t managed to explain live), or when the presence of the said person or some reminder of him comes as something unpleasant, results in breach of chakra or even occurrence of psychosomatic disease.

Sep 22, 2015

The archetypes of wholeness and “energy loss”

In the previous article dedicated to psychosomatics in Yoga Sutras I draw reader’s attention to the association between the state of “chitta-vikshepa – the scattering of chitta – and somatic responses that has been foregrounded by Patanjali. Let me remind that the word “vikshepa” in the framework of 

“Chitta-vikshepa” term is derived from the verbal root kṣip (क्षिप्) — to throw, with help of the prefix vi- (वि), that corresponds to the Russian “vy-“ and ‘ras-“ [or English “dis-“ as well as the particles“away”, “off”, “out” – transl. note]. Of the other hand I shall refer the reader to the opening articles of this blog where we were discussing in details the category of “chitta” having defined it as “substantiated self-sentiment of one’s mind” and were talking about impropriety of simplified definitions of chitta like “mental processes”, “mind/ consciousness” etc.

Jul 8, 2015

Sutra 1.31. The concept of psychosomatics in Yoga Sutras

The next line of Yoga Sutras has also been in a way neglected by commentators, probably due to the fact that its translation is rather simple while the words are almost monosemantic in their interpretation. At first glance the understanding of it seems to be simple as well. Yet in fact it is not. The understanding of this sutra from linguistic standpoint is not difficult but the actual meaning of what is said there is astonishing. And I am surprised that no one has ever before paid attention to and done justice to this line and the genius of its author!

The point is that in this sutra, 22 centuries prior to official discovery of psychosomatics by Reich, Jacobson and Lowen, prior to works of Darwin dedicated to the link between muscles and emotions, Patanjali has formulated the key principle of this concept: human psyche is projected onto the body, while our uncontrolled somatic performances are associated with the sphere of emotions.

Jul 4, 2015

Sutras 1.29 - 1.30. «Obstacles to Yoga» and defence mechanisms of psyche

The next two sutras of Patanjali, the lines 1.29 и 1.30, are dedicated to the so-called barriers in yoga: 

ततः प्रत्यक्चेतनाधिगमोऽप्यन्तरायाभावश्च ॥ २९॥
1.29. tataḥ pratyakcetanādhigamo'pyantarāyābhāvaśca 

व्याधिस्त्यानसंशयप्रमादालस्याविरति-भ्रान्तिदर्शनालब्धभूमिकत्वानवस्थितत्वानि चित्तविक्षेपास्तेऽन्तरायाः ॥३०॥
1.30. vyādhi-styāna-saṃśaya-pramāda-ālasya-avirati-bhrānti-darśana-alabdha-bhūmikatva-anavasthitatvāni citta-vikṣepāste'ntarāyāḥ

The traditional translation of these lines is as follows:

Sutras 1.27 - 1.28. The mechanisms of mantras effect (continuation)

In addition to and in confirmation of the foregoing I shall adduce a popular article in which they give the results of the latest speech physiology studies. 

Our particular interest is drawn by the “mechanics of phonetics” section [the original English text is here – transl.note], the investigation in which they have used the state-of-the-art methods of brain study (and I admit to look on this with admiring envy since in our research work we can so far use classical encephalography only) to show that the process of different sounds articulation involves different zones of the brain. 

May 29, 2015

Sutras 1.27 - 1.28. Sanskrit and mantra-yoga

The following two lines of Yoga Sutras are dedicated to mantras and power of the sound.

तस्य वाचकः प्रणवः ॥२७॥
1.27. tasya vācakaḥ praṇavaḥ

तज्जपस्तदर्थभावनम् ॥२८॥
1.28. tajjapastadarthabhāvanam 

Sutras 27 and 28 tell that “the expression of that (Isvara) is OM (pranava)” and “the repetition of it (Om) in one mind’s eye allows one to experience it (the Isvara)”. Without getting into specifics of what the Om-sound means let us raise a more important question: why do mantras generally exist and how do they work?

Sutra 1.25. Ishvara and the world tree. The metaphysics of plato

The line 25 of Yoga Sutras compares Ishvara with a seed that contains omniscience (sarva-jnana-bidja):

तत्र निरतिशयं सार्वज्ञबीजम् ॥ २५॥
1. 25. tatra niratiśayaṃ sārva-jña-bījam 
1. 25. In Him [Ishvara] is the complete manifestation of the seed of omniscience. [Engl. transl. by Swami Satchidananda – translator’s note].

This happens to be in a remarkable manner aligned with an amazing line from Katha Upanishad:

Mar 24, 2015

An aesthetically-linguistic note on Yoga and samadhi

I cannot stop marveling at the way how deeply, almost at the archetypic level those various aspects of ancient Indian views – yoga, philosophy, grammar and medicine – happen to be intertwined. Here is the recent fact that has astonished me.
As I have already written in one of my previous articles almost all words in Sanskrit (except the borrowed ones) have derived from the so called verbal roots which complete list and classification have been drawn in “Dhatupatha” directory that was compiled more than two thousand years ago. 

Sutra 1.26. Learning from the universe. The problem of yoga schools classicality

The next line of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras that we shall today consider continues the theme of Ishvara.

स पूर्वेषामपि गुरुः कालेनानवच्छेदात् ॥ २६॥
1.26. sa pūrveṣāmapi guruḥ kālenānavacchedāt ॥ 

sa ( - he;

pūrveṣām (m.Gen. pl) – previous, prior, senior; with Genitive case and plural form considered – “of the previous”, “of the senior”;

Feb 2, 2015

The Fundamentals of sanskrit grammar

Whenever someone suggests that you translate Yoga Sutras using only a dictionary and without knowing enough about Sanskrit grammar – don’t fall for it! This person is either not aware of what he is talking about and has never been doing it himself, or it is no further than the third or fourth line of the original text that he himself has managed to “advance”. Sanskrit is a fairly sophisticated language which grammar is intricate enough. Words that have been “distorted” in the course of morphologic transformations, including the rules of guna and sandhi, may bear little resemblance to their dictionary forms, while the logic of cases is somewhat different from what we are used to in our languages [Russian and Ukrainian – translator’s note].

Jan 27, 2015

Sutra 1.26. Ishvara, prakriti and sanskrit grammar

In the previous article I have mentioned the Tantric concept of Purusha (Ishvara) and Prakriti in which Ishvara comes as a static “male”, passive-ordering principle that is opposed to Prakriti – the active and chaotic, “female” one. This correlation of principles is symbolized in many different ways, for instance, by the therein given figure of Kali dancing on the sleeping Shiva (who despite being asleep still has his phallus erect). As we can see, this concept differs from the traditional European idea about relations between male and female principles that is borrowed from popular versions of Taoism where Yan is both male as well as ordering and active principle, while Ying is female, chaotic and passive.

29 декабря 2015 г.

Сутра 1.33. Медитации на преодоление враждебности

    Как уже было сказано выше, майтри, «дружелюбие» – одно из базовых качеств йога. Однако, для большинства людей, особенно, воспитанных в пост СССРовской среде, это достаточно трудное переживание. Несколько поколений нас приучали видеть врагов в контрреволюционерах, немцах, американцах, капиталистах и т.д. Привычка к враждебности (качестве, диаметрально противоположном дружелюбию) и агрессивному отношению к Миру укоренилась очень глубоко и для ее убирания нужны специальные практики.

14 декабря 2015 г.

Сутра 1.33. Методы успокоения читты. Часть 2. Анахатные «добродетели» йога

В следующей сутре Патанджали предлагает совершенно иной и очень оригинальный подход к проблеме восстановления целостности читты, основанный на культивировании анахатных переживаний:


मैत्रीकरुणामुदितोपेक्षाणां सुखदुःखपुण्यापुण्यविषयाणां
भावनातश्चित्तप्रसादनम् ॥ ३३॥
1.33.  {maitrī-karuṇā-muditā-upekṣāṇāṃ} {sukha-duḥkha-puṇya- apuṇya-viṣayāṇāṃ} bhāvanātaś {citta prasādanam}


10 декабря 2015 г.

Сутра 1.32. Методы успокоения читты. Часть первая. Тотальность

Сформулировав критерии рассеянности сознания (читта-викшепы) в шлоке 31, Патанджали следующие 8 шлок (32-39) посвятил методам противодействия этому состоянию. И еще 2 шлоки (40-41) — результату «собирания» читты воедино. Поскольку эти методы вполне применимы и весьма актуальны, в следующих нескольких статьях я последовательно разберу каждый из них.

Итак, сутра 1.32 гласит:


तत्प्रतिषेधार्थमेकतत्त्वाभ्यासः ॥ ३२॥
1.32  tat pratiṣedha-artham eka-tattva-abhyāsaḥ

25 ноября 2015 г.

Огни Варанаси

В этот раз мои санскритские и ученые штудии в Варанаси совпали с осенним праздником Дипавали. С культурологической точки зрения, вероятнее всего, это вариант традиционного для всех народов праздника окончания активных сельхозработ и переход к холодному (по индийским меркам, разумеется) времени года. Переход, который хочется сделать поярче, поэтому фактически - это праздник огней. Для современных городских жителей - это повод наполнить жизнь яркими красками и как следует оторваться. А еще говорят, что Варанаси никогда так не красив, как в этот вечер.

6 ноября 2015 г.

Сутры 1.3 - 1.4. Сварупа. Истинная природа или что же будет, когда вритти побеждены?

Рассмотренная в предыдущих статьях тема разбросанности сознания (читта-викшепы) позволяет вернуться к более глубокому рассмотрению термина, введенного Патанджали еще в третьей строчке. А именно — речь идет о категории «сварупа» или, дословно, «своя форма, «собственная форма», «собственная природа». Напомню, что строка целиком звучит следующим образом: 

1.3.Тогда (в состоянии читта-вритти ниродхи) драштарова (внутреннего наблюдателя) сварупа (собственная форма)

1.4. иначе — слияние с вритти.

20 сентября 2015 г.

Читта викшепа и энергетические завязки

Тема Читтта-викшепы напрямую пересекается с еще одной из важнейших тем в арсенале Йоги и других эзотерических систем, а именно — с темой «завязок» или, в современном просторечье, «хвостов». Для не-практикующих читателей напомню, что под энергетической завязкой мы называем состояние, когда после негармоничного общения с каким-либо человеком у пообщавшегося возникают напрягающие эмоции в отношении этого человека, он мысленно (осознанно или неосознанно) возвращается к общению (например, пытается до-объяснить что-то, не объясненное вживую), присутствие этого человека или напоминание о нем становятся неприятными, пробиваются чакры или даже возникают психосоматические заболевания. 

10 сентября 2015 г.

Архетипы целостности и «потери энергии»

В предыдущей статье, посвященной психосоматике в Йога сутре, я обратил внимание читателя на актуализированную Патанджали связь между состоянием «читта викшепа» — разбросанности читты, и соматическими реакциями. Напомню, что слово «викшепа» в термине «Читта-викшепа» образован от глагольного корня kṣip «क्षिप्» — бросать, при помощи приставки vi «वि-», соответствующей русским «вы-» и «рас-». С другой стороны, напомню читателю о первых статьях этого блога, где мы подробно обсуждали категорию «читта» и давали ее определение как «субстанционированное самоощущение своего сознания», а также говорили о некорректности упрощенных определений читты как «психических процессов», «сознания» и т.д.

1 июля 2015 г.

Сутра 1.31. Концепция психосоматики в Йога сутре

Следующая строка Йога сутры также не избалована вниманием комментаторов. Вероятно потому, что ее перевод достаточно прост, а слова практически не имеют многозначных интерпретаций. На первый взгляд, просто и понимание. В действительности, это не так. Лингвистическое понимание сутры действительно не сложно, однако значение сказанного – потрясает. И я удивлен, что раньше на это никто не обратил внимания, и не отдал должного этой строке и гениальности ее автора!

Дело в том, что в данной сутре Патанджали, за 22 века до официального открытия принципов психосоматики Райхом, Джекобсоном, Лоуэном, до работ Дарвина о связи мышц с эмоциями, формулирует основной ее принцип – психика спроецирована на тело, а неконтролируемые телесные проявления связаны с эмоциональной сферой.

28 июня 2015 г.

Сутры 1.29 - 1.30. «Препятствия к йоге» и защитные механизмы психики

Следующие две сутры Патанджали, 1.29 и 1.30, посвящены так называемым препятствиям в йоге: 

ततः प्रत्यक्चेतनाधिगमोऽप्यन्तरायाभावश्च ॥ २९॥
1.29. tataḥ pratyakcetanādhigamo'pyantarāyābhāvaśca 

व्याधिस्त्यानसंशयप्रमादालस्याविरति-भ्रान्तिदर्शनालब्धभूमिकत्वानवस्थितत्वानि चित्तविक्षेपास्तेऽन्तरायाः ॥३०॥
1.30. vyādhi-styāna-saṃśaya-pramāda-ālasya-avirati-bhrānti-darśana-alabdha-bhūmikatva-anavasthitatvāni citta-vikṣepāste'ntarāyāḥ


Традиционный перевод этих строчек следующий:

23 апреля 2015 г.

Сутры 1.27 - 1.28. Механизмы влияния мантр (продолжение)

В дополнение и подтверждение сказанного выше приведу популярную статью, содержащую описание результатов новейших исследований по физиологии речи. 

Особенно интересен раздел «механика фонетики», в котором при помощи новейших методов исследования мозга (даже легкая зависть берет – мы пока имеем возможность пользоваться в своих исследованиях только классическим энцефалографом) показано, что при произнесении разных звуков задействуются различные зоны мозга. 

17 апреля 2015 г.

Сутры 1.27 - 1.28. Санскрит и Мантра йога

Следующие две сутры Йога сутры посвящены мантрам и силе звука.

तस्य वाचकः प्रणवः ॥२७॥
1.27. tasya vācakaḥ praṇavaḥ

तज्जपस्तदर्थभावनम् ॥२८॥
1.28. tajjapastadarthabhāvanam 

Сутры 27 и 28 говорят о том, что «его (Ишвары) звук – пранава (ом)», и «его (Ом) мысленное повторение дает его (Ишвары) переживание». Не вдаваясь сейчас в вопрос о смысле звука Ом, поставим вопрос более важный: почему вообще существуют мантры и как они работают? 

27 марта 2015 г.

Сутра 1.25. Ишвара и Мировое дерево. Метафизика Платона

Строка 1.25 Йога сутры сравнивает Ишвару с семенем, в котором содержится все знание (сарва-джнана-биджа):

तत्र निरतिशयं सार्वज्ञबीजम् ॥ २५॥
25. tatra niratiśayaṃ sārva-jña-bījam 
25. Там (в Ишваре) наивысшее семя всех знаний

Это удивительным образом перекликается с поразительной строчкой Катха упанишады:

23 марта 2015 г.

Эстетско-лингвистическая заметка о йоге и самадхи

Не устаю поражаться тому, насколько глубоко, буквально на архетипическом уровне переплетаются между собой разные аспекты древнеиндийской мысли – йога, философия, грамматика, медицина. Приведу последний удививший меня факт.
Как я уже писал в одной из предыдущих статей (Основы санскритской грамматики), почти все (кроме заимствованных) слова в санскрите образованы от так называемых  глагольных корней, полный перечень которых и их классификация приведены в составленном более двух тысяч лет назад справочнике «Дхатупатха».

24 февраля 2015 г.

Сутра 1.26. Ученичество у Мира. Проблема классичности Школ Йоги


Следующая сутра Йога сутры Патанджали, над которой мы сегодня поразмыслим, продолжает тему Ишвары. 

स पूर्वेषामपि गुरुः कालेनानवच्छेदात् ॥ २६॥
1.26. sa pūrveṣāmapi guruḥ kālenānavacchedāt ॥ 

sa (m.Nom.sg.) - он;


pūrveṣām (m.Gen. pl) - предшествующий, старейший. С учетом родительного падежа и множественного числа: «предшествующих», «старейших»;

21 января 2015 г.

Сутра 1.26. Ишвара, Пракрити и санскритская грамматика


В предыдущей статье я упомянул о тантрической концепции Пуруши (Ишвары) и Пракрити, согласно которой Ишвара – статическое «мужское», пассивно-упорядочивающее начало, в противоположность Пракрити – активно-хаотичному, «женскому» началу. Такое отношение начал символизируется многими способами, например, уже приведенным в предыдущей статье рисунком Кали, танцующей на спящем Шиве (впрочем, спит-то он спит, но с эрегированным фаллосом). Как мы видим, эта концепция отличается от привычного для европейца взгляда на отношение мужского-женского начал, заимствованного из популярных версий даосизма, где Ян является и мужским, и упорядочивающим и активным началом, а Инь – женским, хаотичным, пассивным.